New Beginnings….journey into full time ministry!

“To walk alongside young women to help them grow in their faith in Christ. To teach them how to walk through the scriptures; encouraging their love (or to fall in love) with Jesus.”

This was my answer when I was asked this past summer “What has the Lord put in your heart to do?”

The more I dove into this question, I realized that what now classifies as “my passions and my desires” are really just a reflection of Christ’s desires for His people. He sets them in the hearts of His children and then, if we’re willing and obedient to see them fleshed out in our lives, we see how they are for our good, but for His glory. The last eight years of my life have been a journey of seeing that very thing take place through the ministry the Lord has entrusted me with as I’ve worked alongside Vision Nicaragua.

I’ve seen the Lord pursue my heart in such intentional ways in where I now know there’s a difference between being a Christian and actually falling in love with Christ! He has placed a desire in my heart for His word. The natural byproduct of that is that I just can’t help but share it! It’s an ever-growing desire for people to meet Jesus and know him. To see His-Story intersect with their-story.

It has been one of the greatest joys of my life to walk alongside the young women in Bethel, Nicaragua. Through building relationships with them I have, in turn, been able to point them to Christ.

Arlen, Me, Massiel, & Ixcel

Breakfast chats with Massiel.

girlies

Arlen, Me, Massiel & Ixcel

Now, it’s time for me to continue into the next chapter of what the Lord is doing.  He’s calling me to play a more active role in the ongoing ministry of Vision Nicaragua both in the US and Nicaragua. Here’s what that will look like:

Girl’s Discipleship: Relational-discipleship with a small group of young believers; teaching/equipping them how to grow in their faith so they can go and make disciples in their own community and culture.

Gemima and Maryini. Youth Retreat 2012

Gemima and Maryini. Youth Retreat 2012

“And the things you have heard me say in the presence of many witnesses entrust to reliable people who will also be qualified to teach others.”

2 Timothy 2:2

Sponsorship Program: Helping find sponsors for the students, widows and men (suffering with chronic kidney disease from the herbicides used in the sugar-cane plantation where many of them work.) that are in our sponsorship program. This also includes updating our donors on the individual(s) they support through up-to-date pictures and correspondence.

Juana, one of the women we serve through our widow sponsorship program

Juana, one of the women we serve through our     widow sponsorship program.

By serving in these two areas of ministry I will continue living in Asheville but will be traveling 4-6 times/year. The extent of time I stay in Nicaragua each trip will vary depending on the nature of each trip. This will free me up to be more present in the lives of the youth in Bethel and the families we serve, while also being able to stay in the States to aid in strengthening communication with our donors who support our sponsorship program.

Tony, graduated top of his class Dec. 2012. He's been sponsored through our program since 7th grade.

Tony, graduated top of his class Dec. 2012. He’s been sponsored through our program since 7th grade.

My passion and what the Lord is calling me to, I’ve learned, is not solely designed for me. Yes, he’s sending me out, but indeed it’s about what He’s asking of each of us who know him to do. So, I’m asking you all to join me as we follow Christ and see “His story” intersect with those hungry for the gospel in Nicaragua.

Here are the ways that you can join me in this journey, both prayerfully and financially. Currently I’m in need of:

Financial:

If you are interested I’d ask you to prayerfully consider to join me in one of the two following ways:

  • Monthly Support
  • One-time Support

To be fully funded I need to reach $3,200/mthly. I believe that the Lord will reveal to each one/family the amount he’d like to bless you with to give.

Ways to Gives:

  • PayPal: Click Here
  • Checks:  Vision Nicaragua  PO Box 2172 Fairview, NC 28730                                                                                                                   

Payable toVision Nicaragua        Memo Line: Missionary Support Lauren Parham

*Vision Nicaragua is a registered Non Profit 501c3. ALL CONTRIBUTIONS ARE TAX Deductible*

Mission Center

Mission Center

This has been the most humbling process to walk through and it’s only just begun. I’m fully convinced that “He who calls you is faithful, and HE will do it!” 1 Thess. 5:24.  This is nothing that I could have designed for myself and it is bringing me to a place of great need for dependence on the Lord!

I’m praying for each of you who read this and I hope the same excitement of the Gospel that is springing up in Nicaragua captures your heart(s) like it has mine! I would love the opportunity to set up a time where we can meet and I can share more in depth about the bigger picture that God is putting together. So, please let me know if you’d like to set up a one-on-one meeting. I can’t wait to start this journey with you!

May hearts come to know Him!

Leave a Reply

